CM – Joginder Singh and Shekhar Mehta were groundbreaking for Kenya


Legendary Joginder Singh Bhachu, Chandra Shekhar Mehta and Ian Duncan are some of the excellent Kenyan drivers who have won the Safari Rally title.

Their accomplishments brought Kenya great fame as the championship metamorphosed to become part of the current WRC series.

Popularly known as « The Flying Sikh », Joginder won the Safari Rally three times; In 1965 a Volvo PV544 with his brother Jaswant as co-driver and in 1974 and 1976 a Mitsubishi Colt Lancer 1600 GSR.

Joginder and Jaswant Singh after winning the East African Safari Rally in 1965. [File, The Standard]

He was born in Uganda and won the Safari Rally five times (1973, 1979-82), four of them in a row.

In 1981 he finished fifth in the World Rally Championship.

Chandra Shekhar Mehta in 1977. [File, The Standard]

Duncan was born on June 23, 1961 and is one of the most successful rally drivers in Kenya.

When he won the 42nd Trustbank Safari Rally in 1994, he achieved absolute victory in a World Rally Championship.

Last rally: 1999 Safari Rally

Ian Duncan drives a Toyota Turbo during the Jamhuri Rally in March 1989. [File, Standard]

WRC Safari Rally: Kenya hosts a WRC event in June, Naivasha Town becomes a nerve center

Mashindano ya Safari Rally siku ya 1; Onka Rai ameongoza mchujo wa kwanza | Zilizala Viwanjani


Rallying,Safari Rally,Kenya,World Rally Championship,Rallying, Safari Rally, Kenya, World Rally Championship,,WRC,Rally,Kenya,,,Safari Rally,,

Donnez votre avis et abonnez-vous pour plus d’infos

Vidéo du jour: