CM – Ruben Dias was named FWA Footballer of the Year after making a stellar debut in the Man City season


The 24-year-old Ruben Dias drove Manchester City to the Premier League title with his colossal defensive performances, with which he received the prestigious individual award

Manchester City’s Ruben Dias was named Football Writers’ Association (FWA) Footballer of the Year after winning the Premier League title in a brilliant debut season with the club.

Dias has made 31 high profile appearances for Pep Guardiola’s triumphant side after breaking a £ 65m club record from Benfica last September.

The Portugal international succeeds Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson as reigning FWA -Footballer of the Year after ousting Tottenham striker Harry Kane and City teammate Kevin De Bruyne with nearly 700 members.

A total of nine City players received votes, which made up more than half of all votes cast.

The prestigious award, which was first awarded in 1948, honors the outstanding achiever in top English football and Dias is the first defender to who has won it since former Liverpool right-back Steve Nicol in 1989.

Dias has been the best center-back in the Premier League this season and has helped City have the best defensive record with just 32 goals conceded in 37 games.

Ruben Dias of Manchester City in action with Alexis Mac Allister of Brighton & Hove Albion [Reuters, Gareth Fuller]

Carrie Brown, Chair of the FWA, said: “Ruben Dias turned heads shortly after arriving in Manchester. A 23 year old who dwarfed his age with steadfastness, steel, a relentless pursuit of perfection, and an almost superhuman ability to read and anticipate phases of play.

“While this is commendable, it would not qualify just one player for the FWA Footballer of the Year award. One of our founding members, Charles Buchan, enacted the award to recognize and celebrate a player who is considered « by example and by example » as Footballer of the Year.

“Dias has demanded the highest standards, which have led to the fastest asset surges not only for Dias himself, but also for his teammates left, right, front and in the middle.

“Ruben Dias is our Football Writers’ Association Footballer of the Year for his leadership skills on and off the field and for the infectious joy he takes in perfecting the art of defense.

“I wonder if it is quite poignant that at a time when so many have their backs against the wall, the joy that slides radiates when it stands firm and suppresses the storm has taken a heart can be.


Everton FC,Chelsea F.C.,Manchester City F.C.,Premier League,UEFA Champions League,Drew Spence,Pep Guardiola,Samantha Kerr,FA Cup,Kai Havertz,Everton FC, Chelsea F.C., Manchester City F.C., Premier League, UEFA Champions League, Drew Spence, Pep Guardiola, Samantha Kerr, FA Cup, Kai Havertz,,,,Football Wire,Liverpool FC,Virgil van Dijk,Barclay’s Premier League,,,Ilkay Gündoğan,,Women’s FA Cup,Chelsea Women,Everton Women,Women’s football,Football,Sport,,

Donnez votre avis et abonnez-vous pour plus d’infos



[supsystic-newsletter-form id=4]

Vidéo du jour: