Weltnachrichten – AU – AIS – Alumni receive the highest distinction at the SAHOF Awards


. .

The Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) congratulates five former AIS scholarship holders recognized among the most recognizable names in Australian sport as part of Sport 2020 Australia Hall of Fame (SAHOF) induction ceremony.

The great Australian rugby and former AIS athlete John Eales was elevated to legendary status and participated in a roll of honor, to which Sir Donald Bradman, Dawn Fraser, Herb Elliott, Cathy Freeman, Rod Laver, Raelene Boyle, Dennis Lillee and Susie O’Neill belong.

AIS alumni Cadel Evans AM (cycling), Bridgette Gusterson OAM (water polo), Lauren Jackson AO (basketball), and Matthew Mitcham (diving) were inducted into athletes, recognizing the significant contributions they have made to their respective sports to have.

Legend of Australian Sports | John Eales (rugby) | AIS Grant – November 1989 – September 1991

Eales received the award, the 42. Becoming a member of the SAHOF Legends Club for his tremendous contribution to Australian rugby. Widely regarded as one of the greatest rugby players in his country, Eales has hung his boots as the second best Wallabies player in history with 86 test appearances, 55 of which as captain. Read the full bio

2020 Hall of Fame Inductee | Cadel Evans (cycling) | AIS Grant – June 1995 – October 2000

Evans cemented his place as one of the greats of Australian road cycling following his historic 2011 Tour de France victory. This made Evans the first Australian to conquer one of the greatest races in the world, having previously finished second twice, among his numerous appearances on the Tour. Evans began mountain biking, where he was offered a scholarship at AIS, and became world champion in road cycling in 2009. Read the full bio

2020 Hall of Fame Inductee | Bridgette Gusterson (water polo) | AIS Fellow – July 1993 – December 2000

Gusterson had an outstanding water polo career, highlighted by the captain of Australia at the 2000 Sydney Olympics as the captain of the first women’s water polo gold medal. Read the full bio

2020 Hall of Fame Inductee | Lauren Jackson (basketball) | AIS Fellow – January 1997 – June 1999

Jackson is widely recognized as one of Australia’s finest basketball players. Jackson is a four-time Olympic champion and has won three silver and one bronze medals. Her success led to world championships where she led Australia to gold in 2006 after successive bronze medals in 2002 and 1998. Read the full bio

2020 Hall of Fame Inductee | Matthew Mitcham (diving) | AIS Fellow – March 2003 – November 2006

Mitcham rewrote the history books when he became the first Australian male diver in 84 years to win an Olympic gold medal at the 2008 Beijing Olympics in an astonishing post-breath performance under extreme pressure Australians do so. Mitcham is also a gold medalist in the Commonwealth Games and a six-time silver medalist in all platform and springboard disciplines. Read the full bio

AIS also congratulates Australia’s T20 women’s cricket team on receiving the « Don Award » for inspiring the nation during their historic T20 World Cup victory before ’86. 174 fans in the MCG. Hall of Fame nominees David Foster and Michelle den Dekker. Also, congratulations to Jill McIntosh, who became a general member of the Hall of Fame.

Twenty20, Australian Women’s National Cricket Team, ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, Sport Australia Hall of Fame Awards, Australian National Rugby Union Team, John Eales, Women’s Cricket, ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, Don Bradman

Weltnachrichten – AU – AIS – Alumni receive the highest distinction at the SAHOF Awards
. . Associated title :
AIS alumni receive top honors at SAHOF Awards
T20 women&s world champions win the Don Award
Aussie world champions take out & # 39; » The Don Award& # 39;
Women&’s T20 page # 39; Eales wins top award at Sport Australia Award
Australia& # 39; s women& # 39; s T20 cricket team to win the 2020 World Cup with The Don Gong in the Sport Australia Hall of . . .
Sports News | CA congratulates the Australian Women& team on winning the Don Award
CA congratulates the Australian Das Women& # 39 team to win the Don Award
Rugby Australia Congratulates John Eales on his & # 39 survey; Legend& # 39; Status in the Sport Australia Hall of Fame

Ref: https://www.miragenews.com

Donnez votre avis et abonnez-vous pour plus d’infos

Vidéo du jour: