World News – GB – Cavan 1-13 Donegal 0-12: Breffni took an angry win to claim the Ulster title


. .


Gaelic Football News

A late goal from Conor Madded helped Cavan upset Donegal 1-13-012 in the Ulster Final for their first Anglo Celt Cup triumph since 1997 on a jaw-dropping day of shocking championship results.

Notably, 100 years after a historic year for the GAA, and on Blood Sunday’s centenary weekend, Cavan’s victory means that the semi-finals across Ireland will be the same as it was in 1920.

Cavan meets Dublin, Mayo meets Tipperary after the Prime Minister stuns Cork. In the 1920 championship (which was completed two years later) Tipp beat Dublin in the playoff.

The surprise seemed to be at stake after the opening phases at the Athletic Grounds. In contrast to the last three games in the Ulster campaign, Mickey Graham’s team broke out of the blocks and took the lead 0-5 to 0-2.

The reigning champions were able to stabilize, however, and Paddy McBrearty and Niall O’Donnell created a lead of 0: 9 to 0: 7 at halftime.

McBrearty got Tír Chonaill’s men off to a good start after the break and showed off a free. But Breffni County reacted brightly when points from Thomas Galligan and James Smith kept them in touch.

Faster target updates. Hundreds of teams and leagues. Free Premier League, EFL and Scotland highlights. Download the app now.

They went on to bring the game to Donegal and were just one point behind in the second half of the water break.

Conor Smith was then shown a black card, but the numerical disadvantage didn’t seem to affect his side when Martin Reilly saw it in the 60. Minute before Gearóid McKiernan gave them the lead.

As the game went into four minutes of stoppage time, Gearoid McKiernan sent a high ball onto Donegal square. Shaun Patton knocked it away, but only into the hands of Conor Madden, who made no mistake.

It was a setback Donegal could not recover from, and Cavan held out to end the 23 year wait for the province’s glory to come to an end.

Donegal’s quest for a third consecutive Ulster title fell short when Declan Bonner’s side were eliminated from the championship.

Cavan: Raymond Galligan, Jason McLoughlin (0-1), Padraig Faulkner, Luke Fortune; Gerard Smith (0-1), Killian Clarke, Ciaran Brady (0-1); Thomas Galligan (0-1), Killian Brady; Martin Reilly (0-1), Gearoid McKiernan (0-2), Oisin Kiernan (0-2); James Smith (0-2), Chris Conroy and Conor Smith.

Donegal: Shaun Patton; Eoghan Ban Gallagher, Neil McGee, and Eoin McHugh; Ryan McHugh (0-1), Paul Brennan, Peadar Mogan (0-1); Hugh McFadden, Caolan McGonigle (0-2); Brendan McCole, Niall O’Donnell (0-2), Michael Langan (0-1); Paddy McBrearty (0-4), Michael Murphy (0-1), Jamie Brennan.

© 2020 Sky UK

Ulster, Ulster Senior Football Championship, Donegal GAA, Cavan GAA

World News – GB – Cavan 1-13 Donegal 0-12: Breffni scores an angry win and takes the Ulster title


Donnez votre avis et abonnez-vous pour plus d’infos

Vidéo du jour: