World news – Nestlé is launching a new, vegan version of its KitKat bar


Nestlé is releasing a new version of its iconic KitKat bar – and an important ingredient will be missing.

Nestlé is launching a non-dairy plant-based version of the 86-year-old milk chocolate bar called KitKat V, the company announced on Monday.

The new KitKat was developed in the UK, where the candy was first developed in the 1930s. It will be available in several countries and at select retailers later this year to test its popularity, the company said. « Taste was a key factor in developing the plant-based chocolate for our new vegan KitKat » said Louise Barrett, director of Nestlé’s York confectionery technology center, in a statement.

« We used our ingredient know-how along with a testing and learning approach to create a delicious vegan alternative to our original chocolate KitKat. »

Nestlé said it had other plant-based ones Products made from rice, oats, soy, coconut, peas and almonds in many product categories, including plant-based burgers.

« There is a silent food revolution afoot that is changing the way people eat, » said Alexander von Maillot, head of the Nestlé pastry shop, in a statement. « We want to be at the forefront and advocate the discovery of plant-based foods and beverages. »

Nonetheless, other confectionery manufacturers have beaten Nestlé. Privately owned Mars – maker of Snickers and M&Ms – introduced two vegan candy bars called Topic and Bounty in January.

© 2021 NYP Holdings, Inc. All rights reserved

Terms of Use

Data protection

Your ad choices


Your California Privacy Rights

Don’t sell my personal information


Donnez votre avis et abonnez-vous pour plus d’infos

Vidéo du jour: