World News – USA – Pitts Morrissey wins Burlsworth Trophy


. .

FAYETTEVILLE – Pittsburgh center Jimmy Morrissey won the Burlsworth Trophy for best college football player to start his career as a walk-on on Monday.

Morrissey won the award against two other finalists, receiver Dax Milne from BYU and linebacker Grant Morgan from Arkansas. The winner was announced shortly before the end of a 56-minute virtual presentation.

Morrissey was an All-ACC second-team selection this season. He has started 47 games in his four-year career with Pitt and has been on an all-conference team three times.

Morrissey is 10. Burlsworth Award winning person who is 11 years old. Season is named after former Arkansas offensive lineman Brandon Burlsworth.

Past winners of the Burlsworth Trophy include former Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield – the only two-time winner of the award – former Clemson recipient Hunter Renfrow and former quarterback Matt McGloin of Penn State.

Do you have a comment on this story? Join the discussion or start a new one on the forums.

Matt Jones is the online sports director for the Arkansas Democrat Gazette. A double graduate from the University of Arkansas, he is a member of the Football Writers Association of America and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association and a voter for the Heisman Trophy.

Burlsworth Trophy, Brandon Burlsworth, Arkansas Razorbacks Soccer, NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision, Pittsburgh Panthers Soccer

World News – USA – Pitts Morrissey wins Burlsworth Trophy



Donnez votre point de vue et aboonez-vous!


Votre point de vue compte, donnez votre avis

[maxbutton id= »1″]